Just another tech blog.

A blog abt GNU/Linux, programming, hacking, and my life.

Installing color schemes for Vim editor

Posted by ajay on June 24, 2006

If you are busy programming all the day and getting bored with the default color scheme of vim editor. You can install some color schemes for vim editor as you want and then you can switch between them.

for installing color schemes first you need to create two directories in your home directories [if these directories dont already exist]

[user@localhost.localadmin]mkdir ~/.vim [enter]

[user@localhost.localadmin]mkdir ~/.vim/colors [enter]

Thats it. Your pc configuration part is done.  Now you will need the theme configuration files. You can download the latest color schemes and many old ones from here (official website of vim editor).  There are many available themes to suit your mind and mood.

Now for each theme or I better call it a color scheme you will get a .vim file or an zipped archive which after extracting will produce lots of .vim files

now you have to copy all the files to the directory .vim/colors/ in your home directory.

For example, if you have downloaded a theme called matrix.vim, then -

[user@localhost.localadmin]mv matrix.vim ~/.vim/colors [enter]

Bingo, the colorscheme is installed, now whenever you are editing a file, you can change the colorscheme using

:colorscheme matrix.vim

You can install as many themes as you like by copying files into that directory.

Now if you want to make a theme your default theme, then you should add this command to your .vimrc -

colorscheme matrix

Here matrix is the name of the colorscheme.

You can also design a theme for vim editor yourself if you are interested. You can take a look at any existing colorscheme file and change the colors in the file to create a new scheme for yourself.

Any better ideas are always welcome. Happy Vimming.

26 Responses to “Installing color schemes for Vim editor”

  1. Anurag said

    Most themes arent that good for C++. Did you get a good looking one for a white background?

  2. ajay said

    Well .. not completely .. but you can try ocean deep .. it is a gud one

  3. alex said

    pyte is a good theme with a light (but not white) background.

  4. Where is the .vimrc file?

    • The .vimrc file for your user is in his/her home directory, $HOME or ~.

      The point of adding the colorscheme to ~/.vim/colors is because maybe you do not have permission to the /usr/share/ directory, therefore, the solution to using a custom color scheme is modifying ~/.vimrc

  5. Yogesh said

    vimrc location is…>
    “/usr/share/vim/vim61/macros/vimrc”

  6. Thanks, exactly what I was looking for.

  7. [...] chi vuole andare oltre qui spiega come installare ulteriori [...]

  8. bpr said

    I had to remove the .vim extension in
    :colorscheme matrix.vim
    but with
    :colorscheme matrix
    it worked perfectly.
    Thanks!

  9. x said

    where you have

    :colorscheme matrix.vim

    it should be

    :colorscheme matrix

  10. Khalid said

    What is the easiest way to load a colorscheme based on the file extension.
    Let’s say I want to have one colorscheme to be loaded when I open .cpp and .h file but another one if I open a .java file.

  11. mlm said

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts about marketing training.
    Regards

  12. “Installing color schemes for Vim editor | Just another tech blog.
    ” ended up being a wonderful post. If it owned alot more photographs it could be
    perhaps even much better. Thank u -Michael

  13. I know this website gives quality based posts and additional data, is there any other site which offers these information in
    quality?

  14. It’s remarkable for me to have a site, which is valuable designed for my knowledge. thanks admin

  15. The experience: I had to have someone come in to set up my computer,.
    Here are 10 easy steps you can take to lower your exposure to tree pollen and other spring allergens, and keep allergy symptoms under control.

    The first step in the process of maintaining a mosquito-free bedroom is to secure the
    structure of the house.

  16. Let me give you a run down, on the benefits of joining, as many free article directoires as you can and
    writting and submitting articles on a regular basis. e – Book directories will ask you to provide them with some information.

    Paid directory owners are obliged to keep the website link on the directory for the
    paid period.

  17. Greetings from Idaho! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to browse your site on my iphone during lunch break. I love the knowledge you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.
    I’m amazed at how fast your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even
    using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, great site!

  18. Remarkable things here. I’m very satisfied to see your post. Thank you so much and I’m having a look ahead to touch you.

    Will you please drop me a mail?

  19. swb1998 said

    Thanks.

  20. TIP: Possible fruits for toppings include sliced strawberries, kiwi fruit  slices,
    grapes, blueberries and sliced bananas. For prawns, try arranging them
    in a circle onn a round plate, and put sauce for dipping right in the
    center. Even the dieticians are advising the people to have these following tthe rise oof food related diseases among the people.

  21. It’s hard to come by well-informed people in this particular
    topic, however, you seem like you know what you’re talking about!
    Thanks

  22. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your site?
    My website is in the very same niche as yours and my visitors
    would really benefit from some of the information you present here.

    Please let me know if this okay with you. Thanks!

  23. When I initially left a comment I seem to have clicked on the
    -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and
    now whenever a comment is added I get 4 emails with the exact same comment.
    Perhaps there is a means you are able to remove me from that
    service? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

